fashion, Health and wellbeing, joy, life, new beginning, passion, personal growth

#12 Career

Are you defined by your career?

You can only really know when suddenly your career,your job is gone.

Once upon a time I was an international buyer always buzzing around at appointments,in Paris,Milan,Florence,Birmingham.I was the person once referred to as ‘The famous Hat lady’ by The Queens milliner Phillip Somerville.

I was responsible for creating London’s premiere Millinery department in Bond Street.

I worked with the most amazing Designers ever to give London the most fabulous,comprehensive collection of Millinery from London and overseas.

I had other buying responsibilities too in my 17 years at the store.

I have experience buying  Jewellery, Hair Accessories, Hosiery, Scarves, Sunglasses, Cards and Stationery, Childrens wear and Baby shop, Gifts, Christmas Shop all of which I loved.

You could say I was a bit of a jack of all trades but I was at least an expert in hats!

I was working in a very high fashion luxury sector but I never at any point considered myself to be a fashionista, in fact I flatly  refused to tow the line and tried to just be me and let my work be the shining star. Maybe that was my downfall?

But whether I was wearing the highest heels or carrying the latest handbag is irrelevant, I can never be critisized for my work.

I was brought up to always be different,not to follow the herd.

Taste and Style has always been more important to me than ‘fashion’ so to speak .

It’s all very well following trends but frightening if it makes you into a mockery.

So in respect of this topic, I guess I was defined by my role when I was actually at work, I was always stressed and very judgmental. And quite frankly,just mental,walking on glass,confined by rules & regulations.

Now ten months after walking away from it all,I can say I am re-born into the person I always wanted to be.

I have a conscience.

I am thankful for my life and the people in it.

I care about the planet and its beings.

I am eager to share my knowledge and happiness with everyone.

I have time to think and breathe.

I know I am not here to be judge and jury but to help and nurture.

I do not need to lose my hair with stress because I am made to something that is against my beliefs.

I am my own person.

I do not have to fear.

I can live with the knowledge that I have a good heart and only strive to do the right thing.

I am still the Hat Lady though and people in the ‘industry’ will always know me as that.

So I have decided to put all of my knowledge and connections together and give it to people in a hope that it will bring them some joy.

In September the doors of http://www.hatattic.com will open.

I get to go and do something I love, finding beautiful objects that can bring a smile to peoples faces.Gifts and goodies that people can treasure,things that make them feel loved and wanted.

I stay in touch with my wonderful millinery friends and we get to work together again to bring you the most exceptional, perfect hats for special occasions, snow, rain and sun or just because its gorgeous and you just must have it!

I get to bring a splash of colour and fun into your life.

Please register on http://www.hatattic.com and be the first to experience something that can only enhance your life.

 

I also work with beauty, skincare and nutrition products that are planet and person friendly.

http://www.arbonneinternational.co.uk

 

#facebook.com/hatattic

#@hatlady1hat-atticlogo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a comment